Adding PRU-ICSS drivers to RTEMS on Texas Instrument Sitara SoCs

So my little project for RTEMS with GSoC has started. In this post I introduce my project. This blog will cover my progress during GSoC and some guides to use my code and recreate my results.

Abstract:

This Project intends to add the PRU support to RTEMS, using the Beaglebone Black (BBB). The BBB has an Texas Instruments AM3358 SoC with an  Programmable Real-Time Unit (PRU). The PRU is able to connect to the SoCs i/o within one cycle. This will enable the RTEMS community to develop heavily i/o dependent tasks on the Texas Instruments SoCs with PRUs. More information can be found on RTEMS wiki page concerning this project. I intend to extend the wiki during summer to be a good starting point for RTEMS users wanting to use PRU.

My main goal is to port the linux userspace driver used by the BeagleBoard.org community. Please visit RTEMS GSoC page the full GSoC proposal I wrote.

Leave a comment